h1

The Challenge

May 3, 2007

I have been challenged.  This is a good thing.  I thank God for brothers and sisters in Christ who  hold me accountable.  The blogosphere holds so much opportunity that it is almost mind-boggling.  But with that comes responsibility and accountability.  It is way to easy to see the blog as an opportunity to share “my thoughts” and forget that I am still representing God.  I may be anonymous and have no fear in voicing my opinion, but then I remember that my anonyminity doesn’t carry over to God.   As long as I write under the label of “Christian,” I am representing God.  Whoah!  Now that is responsibility! 

 A frequent visitor to the irish calvinist site (www.irishcalvinist.com) challenged me to post on my own site more.  I have been somewhat of a stigma on that site and tend to use that forum as an outlet for my thoughts when I could be doing it here on my site.  Part of the reason for this is because I get maybe 5 readers a day on my site,(30 if I post comments like I did on the irish calvinist site) and there is little discussion here.  The other part is that I respond better than I instigate.  It is much easier for me to read what people write and respond to that, than to come  up with things on my own.  However, Barry’s challenge has caused me to re-evaluate that to an extent.  So, for all you readers, this next post is something new,  something provoked, but from my own thoughts.

10 comments

  1. this post sucked…

    lol…kidding…


  2. Seth,
    I’m just warming up.


  3. I am looking forward to it brother. I vow to make frequent comments. I truly believe you have something to say and I can’t wait until you get warmed up.


  4. Here’s a question for you or one you can use for someone else. If it is true that God has determined who is Elect and who is “unElect” and obviously many believe without any doubt that they are among the Elect, can a person know without a doubt that he is among the “unElect”. If so and he reasons he has no choice but to suffer “unElection” then what is one to say to him.


  5. David,

    Good question. If I were Reformed, I would probably say no, they can’t know for certain that they are not Elect. The Reformed would believe that there is nothing that could dissuade God’s choice if He chose to save someone. Being non-Reformed, I would probably still say no. However, if someone understood the Bible and understood what the unpardonable sin is, then I might say yes. In order to fully understand the Bible in this way, one must actually believe in God. I think it is a rare occurance that someone actually firmly believes in God and still refuses to submit to Him. This is a good question and deserves a little more thinking than this. I may have more on the subject at some time.

    As to what to say to that person, well, maybe “Good Luck!”?


  6. I believed that I was “unelect” at one time in my life. Your answer may have induced me to homocide. I may have wished you luck just before turning out the lights.

    Seriously, I wasn’t that far gone but who knows how wicked we can be, I was so close to suicidal at the time.

    I do hope you wouldn’t have said that?!


  7. David,
    No, I would never say that, I was just trying to say something whitty because I honestly don’t know what I would say to that person.


  8. I’d be intereste to read your thoughts on some of this interchange:

    https://www.blogger.com/comment.g?blogID=14012689&postID=3981108654502396259

    David


  9. David,
    I was really intrigued by your question about the person who believes is not elect. I believe that God is sovereign in salvation and has determined who he will save and who he will not for he has said, “I will be gracious to whom I will be gracious, and will show compassion on whom I will show compassion” (Exodus 33:19)
    Even the prophets in the Old Testament understood that repentance (righteous living) did not guarantee favor with God, “Seek good and not evil, that you man live…perhaps the Lord God of hosts May be gracious to the remnant of Joseph (Amos 5:14). “Now return to the Lord your God…who knows whether He will not turn and relent and leave a blessing instead” (Joel 2:13-14). “Who knows, God may turn and relent and withdraw His burning anger so that we will not perish” (Jonah 3:9).
    What would I tell a person who believes he is not elect (and yes I’ve thought it myself), that they do not deserve to be elect, what they deserve is to spend an eternity in hell for the sins they have committed. Yet God has seen fit in his kindness, tolerance, and patience to give him another day to seek grace, to humble himself under the mighty hand of God. I would also point him to Christ who is full of grace and truth, so that they must flee to Him for shelter from the wrath they deserve. In short, I guess I would encourage them as him as he suffers in his lack of assurance to entrust his soul God. “Therefore, those also who suffer according to the will of God shall entrust their souls to a faithful Creator in doing what is right.” (1 Peter 4:19)
    And here is an interesting question to think about: Are you willing that God should be glorified in your damnation? If God should not save you from you your sins, would you be willing to glorify him for the execution of his righteous judgment upon you and all those who are to receive the due penalty for their unrighteous living.


  10. Justin,
    Interesting question yourself. I think that in order to be willing to glorify God in your own damnation, one would have to truly believe in God and have a sincere love for him. I can’t imagine anyone who is not saved having that kind of love for God.

    On the other hand, I once heard a testimony of a man whose uncle had been homeless. One night, as he was sitting under an overpass with another homeless man, the weight of the world came down on him and he suddenly felt the need to know Christ. He asked the other man if he was a Christian. The man said, no, but I used to be. The first man asked the other if he would tell him about God. The other man started telling him about Christ and being a Christian, and by the end of the night, the first man had been led to Christ. I don’t know if the man who told him about the Bible really believed what he was saying or not, but God used what he had to say to bring someone to Him. I think, willing, or not willing, God will use or not use whomever he needs to glorify Himself. If God chooses to glorify Himself through someone’s damnation, then it really makes no difference whether that person is willing or not.

    I don’t know. Those are my thoughts after considering your question for a short time. Given more thought, I might think differently. ???
    Thanks



Leave a Reply

